PM address to the nation and lay the foundation of major projects of Oil & Gas sector in Tamil Nadu

No comments

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will develop major projects of the oil and gas sector in Tamil Nadu on February 17, 2021, through video conferencing. PM Modi will address to the nation the Ramanathapuram – Thoothukudi natural gas pipeline and Gasoline Desulphurisation Unit at Chennai Petroleum Cooperation Limited, Manali. He will also lay the base of Cauvery Basin Refinery at Nagapattinam.

The Ramanathapuram – Thoothukudi Natural Gas Pipeline is 143 KM. This includes the Ennore- Thiruvallur- Bengaluru- Puducherry- Nagapattinam- Madurai- Tuticorin.

The Gasoline Desulphurisation Unit at Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited (CPCL), Manali has been constructed at the cost of about Rs. 500 crore. It will produce low Sulphur (less than eight ppm) environment-friendly gasoline, help reduce emission and contribute towards a cleaner environment.

The Cauvery Basin Refinery to be set up at Nagapattinam will have nine million metric tonnes per annum capacity. It will be set up through a Joint Venture of IOCL and CPCL. It will produce Motor Spirit and Diesel meeting BS-VI specifications, and Polypropylene as a value-added product.

What is Natural Gas?

Natural Gas is a new age fuel. It gives cleanest, efficient, non-polluting, environmentally friendly and economical the fossil fuel in the modern-day industry.

Gas pipeline network covers 19 states namely, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh & Uttarakhand and 2 Union Territories namely, Puducherry & Dadra Nagar Haveli by GAIL.

Cross country pipeline projects

Natural gas pipelines are the most strategic assets for India’s energy security and backbone to achieve the gas-based economy.

Sr. No. Project Length (km) Cover States
  1 Jagdishpur Haldia and Bokaro Dhamra Pipeline(JHBDPL) Phase-2 & 3 1905 Bihar,Jharkhand,
Odisha and West Bengal
2 Barauni Guwahati Pipeline (BGPL) 729 Bihar, West Bengal and Assam
3 Vijaipur Auraiya Pipeline (VAPL) 352 Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh
4 Kochi-Koottanad-Bengaluru-Mangaluru Pipeline(KKBMPL) Phase- II 443 Kerala, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu
5 Srikakulam Angul Pipeline (SAPL) 774 Odisha and Andhra Pradesh
6 Mumbai Nagpur Jharsuguda Pipeline (MNJPL) 1755 Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh,
Chhattisgarh and Odisha
7 Dhamra Haldia Pipeline (DHPL) 253 Odisha and West Bengal
8 Sultanpur- Jhajjar-Hissar Pipeline (SJHPL) 135 Haryana
9 Haridwar-Rishikesh-Dehradun Pipeline (HRDPL) 50 Uttarakhand

Source: PIB, gailonline

Leave a Reply